X FACTOR – ISRAEL’S GOT TALENT

“Parents, the greatest thing is to surrender your children to God. We need to send the very best of our young people into God’s service.”

Reading: 1 Samuel 16

My first (and only) talent quest entry was at Karuah Public School, NSW, in 1972. I was in 5th class. The competition was hot. Our school captain, Paul Callaghan, recited Banjo Patteron’s “The Geebung Polo Club”, in full costume. It was my turn. I played Beethoven’s “Moonlight Sonata” on the piano, (rather nervously as I remember),  and you’d never know it, but I won! The prize was a $5 note. (My weekly pocket money in 1972 was ten cents, so this was an amazing thing indeed!) Since then, I haven’t won a thing, anywhere! Maybe it’s the (absent) luck of the draw, or maybe it’s a distinct lack of talent?

Most of us have little talent, but that’s OK. God uses poor, broken, ugly, unwanted and untalented people. There are many Bible examples of this. However, occasionally, God uses someone loaded with talent. David was one such individual. One of Saul’s servants commented on David (v18). He was seen as; musically gifted; brave in battle; possessing understanding in business and other matters; handsome and lastly, he knew Jehovah God personally. Saul needed David. God used David.

Dear Bible believing Christian, if you are like the majority of us, being average (or even below), God has a plan for you. He delights in using weak vessels for His glory. Rejoice!

However, maybe you are one of the talented ones, with a brilliant mind, a musical heart, an athletic body, skillful hands? Let God use you for His glory. If you belong to Jesus Christ, you are bought with a price. Your life is not yours to live as you please. We are to live as God pleases.

I heard a famous pastor tell the story of the day he met Elvis Presley in an elevator. He asked Elvis as to whether or not he was saved. Elvis replied, “Yes, I know I’m saved, but I am far away from God at this moment.” What a talented person was Elvis! What a voice! What a waste of a good life! Don’t squander your life on yourself.

Parents, the greatest thing is to surrender your children to God. We need to send the very best of our young people into God’s service. Australia is in desperate need of pastors, missionaries, workers.

Only one life; t’will soon be past. Only what’s done, for Christ will last.” (Anon.)

Whether a David or a Mephibosheth, Jesus Christ deserves our all.

For me to live is Christ…” (Philippians 1:21)

